Who doesn’t love a survey? (I know you remember MySpace…)

I got this survey from Janetha at meals & moves. By the way, her blog is amazing. First blog I went totally creeptastic on and read from beginning to end. If you don’t already read, check it out! She has delicious, easy, and healthy recipes/two cute dogs. Win win. 

A is for age: 23. I feel like I should be older, actually. In bed by 9:30 every night, eat dinner at 5:30, rarely go out for bad decision juice and debauchery. Senior citizen!

B is for breakfast today: It’s still early and I just woke up, so I haven’t eaten yet. I’m thinking it’ll be a yogurt bowl with some shredded wheat/raw oats and fruit (apple, banana, mixed berries).

C is for currently craving: Iced coffee! The weather has warmed up to a stifling 50 degrees here in Wyoming. Time to break out the bikinis!

Image

Me and my sister a couple summers ago. Don’t be deceived, that is not the ocean behind us. It’s a pathetic little pond in Cheyenne, but we did what we could. And the color of my skin? Yeah, that was after studying abroad in Mexico for two months. I am the palest of pale. 

D is for dinner tonight: Couldn’t say. I’m home in Cheyenne (my parents live here), so me and my mom usually throw something together. It will most likely be an upgrade from what I’d make if I were at my apartment in Laramie (salad with a bowl of cereal chaser).  

E is for favorite type of exercise: I don’t want to sound like a freak here, but I like all kinds of exercise! Up until the past several months I would dread running and would only do short HIIT workouts on the treadmill. Thanks to some interesting treadmill runs (mostly from this wonderful blog), I’ve been able to increase my distance/pace. I think the other day I ran 6 miles at an 8:30min pace. I know that’s not super-speed by any means, but for me it’s pretty decent.

BUT, I also love weight lifting. And I’ve barely gotten into CrossFit, which I adore because it never bores me. And I enjoy those workouts that don’t seem like workouts the best: swimming, water-skiing, hiking, going on a leisurely bike ride, exploring a new city. Love it all!

F is for an irrational fear: When I was little, it was getting left at a gas station when we would pit stop on family road trips. I was terrified. Made my mom or sister come with me to the bathroom and they had to talk to me the whole time I was in the stall. That fear would keep me up at night.

G is for gross food: I’ll be honest, I eat everything. I can’t think of any food, if prepared deliciously, I find to be horridly repulsive. Maybe fast food? It make me feel like poo.

H is for hometown: I suppose Ogden, Utah? That’s where I went to middle/high school. It was actually a decent place to grow up. Sometimes I miss it, but I could never move back there. EVER.

Image

source

I is for something important: Besides family (because I feel that’s a given), I think that traveling and “expanding your horizons” is SO SO important. I have never felt as alive and happy and fulfilled as I did when I was studying in Mexico. It was like the whole world opened up.

Image

In the garden outside of Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera’s home in Mexico City.

J is for current favorite jam: Bought The Black Keys Brothers not too long ago. Good stuff. I like to put their album on and listen to it over and over. I’m no music buff, but their music kinda reminds me of the 70’s (or what I would imagine the 70’s to be like, since I kinda missed out on the decade.)

Image

source

Awkward chic.

K is for kids: None. I’m not ready for little ones, noooo way. Just the thought overwhelms and terrifies me. God bless the good moms. 

L is for current location: Cheyenne, WY. On my parents’ couch. Don’t I sound like a typical college grad?

M is for the most recent way you spent money: On cucumbers and apples and a giant sweet potato at the grocery store. The check out man didn’t know what a cucumber was? He had to ask me. Get that boy some veggies, stat. 

N is for something you need: a vacation! Dear lord, a vacation. My job is slowly sucking the life from my veins. I’m taking the first week in April off to go hang out with my sister and parents in Denver for the women’s Final Four. Katie (sister) is a basketball coach for Bucknell University. They didn’t make the tournament but the school is footing the bill for Katie to go to Denver and network. I cannot wait!

O is for occupation: Supported employment supervisor at a facility for people with disabilities. I help people get and keep jobs out in the community. A good job, in theory. Not for me.

P is for pet peeve: This is hard to explain, but when someone brings up something fun they were planning to do with you, but then didn’t because such-and-such happened. My mom does this all the time. Example: “Oh, I was going to call you and plan to meet up so we could go to a movie and then go get ice cream, but it took me too long at the store so I’m coming home.” WHYYYY? Why would you tell me of the glorious fun now squelched. My mom is a pro at doing this. 

Image

But what about the ice cream?

Q is for a quote: “Don’t be afraid to be a fool. Remember, you cannot be both young and wise. Young people who pretend to be wise to the ways of the world are mostly just cynics. Cynicism masquerades as wisdom, but it is the farthest thing from it; because cynics don’t learn anything, because cynicism is a self-imposed blindness–a rejection of the world because we are afraid it will hurt us or disappoint us. Cynics always say no. But saying yes begins things. Saying yes is how things grow. Saying yes leads to knowledge. ‘Yes’ is for young people. So for as long as you have the strength to, say yes.” –Stephen Colbert.

Image

source

I love Stephen Colbert. The man’s a hilarious genius. 

R is for random fact about you: I graduated high school 4ish months early and it was a horrible decision. I had to get a full time job doing data processing. Worst four months of my life. Word to the wise: “Stay in school. As long as you can!!” (Billy Madison)

S is for favorite healthy snack: I try to eat pretty healthily always, so all of my snacks are semi-healthy. I love Wasa crackers with hummus, cucumber, and sliced turkey. A smoothie is always delicious as well.

T is for favorite treat: I’m gonna go cliche girl right here and say: FRO-YO!! 

Image

Don’t deny the delicious. (This was from a couple summers ago in Fort Collins.)

U is for something that makes you unique: I have 5 siblings. Four brothers, one sister. Two of my brothers are adopted and another is a half-brother (my dad was married once before). My oldest brother is 15 years older than me. 

V is for favorite vegetable: I cannot choose! I enjoy so many. Red, yellow, and orange peppers; cucumbers, tomatoes, and carrots are used most often in my diet though.

W is for today’s workout: None today so far. Yesterday was 15 minute cycling warm up and then the most horrendously difficult and painful CrossFit yet. I’m SO sore today. So thinking today is rest day.

X is for X-rays you’ve had: Never broken a bone, so none for that. I guess only dental x-rays?

Y is for yesterday’s highlight: Last night my mom and I went to Blast!, which is like Stomp but with instruments/dancing. It was AWESOME! 

Image

source

So much talent in those performers. And so much energy! I couldn’t imagine putting on a show like that every night.

Z is for your time zone: Mountain. And just like Janetha, stoked for Daylight Savings Time tonight. I love when it stays lighter later in the evening. Reminds me that summer is coming!

Okay, this took way longer than expected and is probably filled with more useless information than anyone cares to know about. But it was fun! And I’m not sure how to resize pictures, because I have a feeling some are going to be giant. Sorry if you were disturbed by an overly large picture of my face.

Leave a Reply

